Phoenix Angel – A. Gerry and C. Hall

My Review – Phoenix Angel was given to me to read for my review and let me just start by
saying how amazed I am that two people could teamwork it though an entire book
together successfully. Not to mention that they are sisters! I can get along
with anyone in just about any situation, but there is no way that I would be
able to sit and write a novel with someone without that person mysteriously
disappearing. That goes double where a sibling is involved (not that I don’t
love my sister dearly). Gerry and Hall pulled it off beautifully!

Phoenix
Angel had my full attention within the first 50 pages. After that I couldn’t put
down. When I had about 70 pages to go, I wished that I had the next novel lined
up and ready because I knew it was going to kill me to wait for it. And it still
might!

Maggie is a beautiful high school girl scorned by a football
player. Since the experience she’s become closed off and nasty to her fellow
classmates, especially if they’re in a certain popular crowd. Her best friend,
however, is the other side of the coin. Loved by all and on every school
planning board, Lily, always has a sunny disposition and is always smiling. Lily
more or less keeps Maggie (and her mouth) in check. Friends since they were
babies, they have a deep, sisterly bond.

There’s a new guy in school with
calendar-guy good looks and is easily the best player on the football team. Kyle
has instant fame. The guys all worship him and the girls are falling at his
feet. However, he has eyes only for quick-tempered Maggie – and she hates him.
In fact, the first time their eyes meet, Maggie becomes violently ill. Lily
thinks that Maggie should give Kyle a chance and Kyle is ever trying to prove to
Maggie that he’s not the typical jock, even saving her from sexual harassment
from the other players and rescuing her from an attack at work. She’s constantly
fighting off his attempts, but he’s relentless. SPOILER ALERT – It all leads up
to the best first kiss I’ve ever read!

Soon after meeting, Maggie, Lily,
and Kyle all develop strange new “talents”. They believe these talents to be the
reason behind a violent attack by large-poison-fanged -telepathic wolves. The
trio resolve to develop their talents to better defend themselves against any
future attacks. Something is obviously after Maggie, and that something is
willing to kill Lily and Kyle to get her.

Soon another new guy shows up
in town and it’s quickly clear that he’s part of whatever is happening with
Maggie, Lily, and Kyle. Friend or foe, Carter joins the trio and discovers that
he has powers as well. Together they fend off a double attack led by a man in
white and a man in black that seem to know them all, but by different names from
a different time. The attack leaves hundreds dead and one of them behind while
the others escape.

The book ends as the perfect set up for a great
series. Maggie, Lily, Kyle, and Carter are part of an ancient battle between
good and evil. We don’t know yet who is on what side. And although I have my
suspicions, I have a feeling that Gerry and Hall have a twist. I can’t wait to
get my hands on the next book!

 

Review by Crystal

Also posted at TheCoverContessa.com, goodreads.com, and amazon.com

Leave a Reply

